The long-awaited “The Church of Simultaneous Existence” album from Ed Kuepper and his Aints! Is almost upon us, with a September 21 release date announced for CD, LP and digital formats. The album will be accompanied by an Australian tour taking in Queensland, NSW, Victoria and WA over October-November, culminating in a show at the Meredith Music Festival on December 7.

This version of the Aints! differs from previous ones in its focus on not only revisiting the material of the original Saints but mining a well of woodshedded songs intended for what would have been that band’s fourth LP.

From the glorious slash and burn of Stranded-era track “SOS ’75” via the horn-driven “Red Aces” (the mooted follow up to 1977s classic 7" Know Your Product) to “Winters Way”, recorded and released by the Laughing Clowns for their 1984 swan song LP “Ghosts Of An Ideal Wife” but written in 1975 and presented here closer to its original form.

Meanwhile “Goodnight Ladies” (arguably the album’s centrepiece) draws from three songs written in the period, the earliest being from 1969 when Ed had just entered high school and which he describes as ''a kind of overture of my pre-Saints stuff." Elsewhere, “Country Song in G” can stand proud next to Kuepper’s 1990s solo classics “The Way I Made You Feel”, “I'm With You” and “Wish You Were Here” although its inception dates back to late 1977.

Tickets for the shows and pre-orders of the album and merchandise are available at

The Aints!
The Church of Simultaneous Indifference Tour
26 - Coolangatta Hotel Gold Coast, QLD
27 - The Triffid Brisbane, QLD,
2 - Caravan Music Club Oakleigh South, VIC
3 - Theatre Royale, Castlemaine, VIC
5 - The Croxton Bandroom, Thornbury, VIC
9 - The Factory Theatre, Marrickville, NSW
10 - Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle, NSW
23 - Rosemount Hotel, Perth, WA
24 - Settlers Tavern, Margaret River, WA
25 - Mojo's Bar, North Fremantle, WA
7 - Meredith Music Festival, VIC